Conference Committees

Conference Co-Chairpersons

John Rhodes
President and Chief Executive Officer

Robert Catell
Chairman of the Board, Advanced Energy Center
Chairman, NYS Smart Grid Consortium

Yacov Shamash
Vice President, Economic Development
Stony Brook University

Scientific Advisory Council

Brookhaven National LaboratoryCo-Chairperson: Dr. Doon Gibbs
Director, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Stony Brook UniversityCo-Chairperson: Dr. Fotis Sotiropoulos
Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Stony Brook University

SUNY Polytechnic InstituteDr. Pradeep Haldar
CNSE Vice President of Entrepreneurship Innovation and Clean Energy Programs
SUNY Polytechnic Institute

Rensselaer Polytechnic InstituteDr. José Holguín–Veras
Director of the Center for Infrastructure, Transportation, and the Environment (CITE)
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)

New York Institute of Technology (NYIT)Dr. Nada Anid
Dean of the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
New York Institute of Technology (NYIT)

Alfred UniversityDr. Doreen Edwards
Dean of Engineering
Alfred University

Farmingdale State CollegeDr. Kamal Shahrabi
Dean of the School of Engineering and Technology
Farmingdale State College

Binghamton UniversityDr. Bahgat Sammakia
Vice President for Research
Binghamton University

Rutgers UniversityDr. Serpil Guran
Director EcoComplex
Rutgers University

NYSERDADr. Ellen Burkhard
Senior Project Manager

NYU Tandon School of EngineeringDr. Kurt Becker
Vice Dean for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
NYU Tandon School of Engineering

University at BuffaloDr. Liesl Folks
Dean of Engineering
University at Buffalo

Clarkson UniversityDr. William D. Jemison
Dean of the School of Engineering
Clarkson University

US Department of EnergyDr. Imre Gyuk
Program Manager for Energy Storage
US Dept of Energy

Cornell UniversityDr. Lance Collins
Dean of Engineering
Cornell University

Syracuse Center of ExcellenceDr. Edward Bogucz
Executive Director
Syracuse Center of Excellence

Stony Brook UniversityDr. Esther Takeuchi
SUNY Distinguished Professor
Stony Brook University, Advanced Energy Center

KEP ConsultingDr. Karin Ezbiansky Pavese
KEP Consulting

University at BuffaloDr. Amit Goyal
Director of RENEW
University at Buffalo

The City College of New YorkDr. Lisa S. Coico
The City College of New York

Seoul National UniversityDr. Seung Il Moon
Korean Electrical Engineering and Science Research Institute
Seoul National University

Stony Brook UniversityDr. Kathleen Araújo
Assistant Professor Energy & Environmental Systems
Stony Brook University

Program Committee

NYSERDAChairperson: Don LaVada

Trotta AssociatesRic Trotta
Trotta Associates

Empire State DevelopmentMatt Watson
Empire State Development

Farmingdale State CollegeMarjaneh Issapour
Farmingdale State College


NYS Smart Grid ConsortiumNancy Doon
NYS Smart Grid Consortium
VHB Engineering



National GridMike Ruiz
National Grid

Organizing Committee

Kathleen Ferrell
Advanced Energy Center at Stony Brook University

Charlie MacLeod
SMM Advertising

Wendy Morris

Adam Ortiz
Advanced Energy Center at Stony Brook University

Jack Kramer
Advanced Energy Center at Stony Brook University

Jim Smith
Advanced Energy Center at Stony Brook University

Sponsorship Committee

Chairperson: Kathleen Ferrell
Advanced Energy Center at Stony Brook University

Special Thanks

Dr. Kathy Araújo
Energy & Environmental Systems, Stony Brook University

John Franceschina, P.E.
Lockheed Martin Energy

Dr. Richard Perez
University at Albany